Postcards from the Edge


New Orleans…Day 2
July 9, 2009, 3:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Greetings Blogosphere…
Today was our second day of work. A lot of groups switched up their jobs and it sounded like everyone had a great day! We had some really special encounters with some New Orleans residents: a man named Cliff who carried his siblings on his back in water up to his chin to get out of the Lower 9th Ward…Pastor Washington whose church was destroyed and he started rebuilding it himself at the age of 78!, and even a UPS lady who was incredibly touched by the fact that a bunch of kids would come spend a week rebuilding the city. Enjoy this evening’s installments from the kids. They’re well worth the read! PLEASE LEAVE COMMENTS AT THE BOTTOM AS WE LOVE READING THEM TO THE KIDS IN THE EVENINGS!

Today, our group worked on tearing up the floor of a house. It’s a small job that means alot to the people who own the house. As we were nearing the end of our job, we had to clean up some of the leftover items. It broke my heart to see all of the pictures of their family, and especially, there were tons of pictures of a baby. It really brought in to perspective what we were doing when I saw pictures of a sweet family. It is so surprising to be driving along and see all these beautiful houses, and then all you have to do is cross a bridge and see houses blown to the side and grass 5 feet high. I’m so glad I can get to be a part of such a great trip that makes a difference to the people of New Orleans.
-Morgan Lane

Today, we went to the Lower 9th Ward, the area where Katrina hit the hardest, it was terrifying seeing the houses that were broken down and just seeing the pavements where there were once houses but were destroyed. It definitely made me think about how much I have when I saw all the items that were destroyed in the house. What we did today definitely taught me a lesson.
-Kristen Hanson (K.K.)
p.s. I love you mom and Kathryn!!! ; )

Today, I had fun. I love you mom and dad. I am lucky. Yay. So im really hungry… Brittney has been eating every single meal of mine. Gross Brittney.
-kate latham (kate)

Hiiiiiiiiiiii! Well I haven’t had any hard jobs for the past couple days, but I know the little jobs ive had have been good, I think. I really like it down here in New Orleans, when it isn’t BLAZING hot. Its been really nice though. I feel really great that im helping people in need! Its been really sad seeing all the houses that have been destroyed, but its nice to know the people who have lost everything still have hope and see the bright side in things. This has been a wonderful experience and everyone should do a mission trip in their life, especially the New Orleans one! K thanks.
-KAKI GANT.

Today our group went to a local school and prepared the school for the other people coming to work later. It was a slow, but a productive day. Yesterday we did Demo. We tore up the floor of a house. It was so much fun! So far, it’s been my favorite thing to do. It’s really humid here and rains daily. I love it! I love y’all all back home!! Thanks, bye!
-Brittney Rathbone

All this week my group is working on putting up dry wall in a house for a woman and her three sons. It’s incredibly hot but I love my group. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll have a career in construction. I love all my family back home!!!
-Ellie Hewett

On a bright sunny day in the gynormous city of new Orleans, I took an adventure. Not JUST an adventure, but an adventure through through a mysterious thing called humidity. We drove through the wilderness of tall grass and saw the “brad pitt” homes. It was very wonderful! But when we drove through the valley of the shadow of death called the ninth ward, I started to cry in sadness of everything that is gone… and it made me think…. You should’ve done this trip. Alright bye.
-Kaki Gant (signed “Anonymous”)

Hey, this week we have been working on a house in New Orleans. We have been mudding the house and sanding it. It is very hard work and you get really dirty. We hope to paint the house later on in the week. The house that we are working at has a lot of history to it and it’s the oldest house in the neighborhood (1895). Anyway, I’ve been having a fun time.
-Garrett Feemster (that’s our friend from Tennessee –britt)

I knew coming into it that this week was about our kids, but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that it has already changed my heart too. What happened in New Orleans was truly a tragedy not only on my country, but on God’s children. I know that we are all becoming attached to the people and the spirit of New Orleans that continues to fight and rise above. Parents, I am so blessed to get to know your kids. We’re happy to be here, but I know we’ll all be glad to see the flat desert of West Texas again : D
–Abby Anderson


8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that you are finding so much to do in New Orleans. Their suffering certainly continues and so much of the country has forgotten NOLA. Keep the love going. Jane and I truly love the time we spent there in April 2008. Sing a song, play a tune and do a dance! In NOLA you’re not strange if you do! Our sincerest prayers are with you all.

Comment by Carl Beery Moore

What you guys have written has blessed me! It is a privilege to read about your personal experiences and I have learned from you. Your work is hard and necessary. Feeling what others feel…especially feeling what breaks God’s heart for his children…is a gift from God. Thank you for sharing youselves with those who can really use a hand. (Love you girlfriend)

Comment by Missy

I’m so glad you are sharing your hearts and Christ’s love with the folks in New Orleans. Keep up the good work! Love, Mary Beth

Comment by Mary Beth Anton

I am so proud of your selfless giving of yourselves to help these folks. You guys are amazing! I miss my Morgan. Love you, chica.

Comment by LuAnn Lane

We are so proud of each and every one of you! Being there and actually seeing all of the destruction firt hand puts the magnitude of disaster into perspective and how many lives it affected and continues to affect. Your being there to help means so much to those that really need it. Keep up the good work. Hopefully Kaki will get some harder chores and Brittney will quit eating Kate’s food!

Comment by Terry & Judy Gant

It is so exciting to read about what you guys are doing and it sounds like though it is hard work you are having a great time. I’m so proud of each of you, showing God’s love to these people in such a selfless way. You will look back on these days the rest of your life and remember the people you’ve touched and the bonds you’ve made with each other. Mission trips are the greatest!!! Take advantage of each moment–the week will be over soon…..

Comment by Cynthia Howard

Hey gang! I guess its that time of year again. The ooooooold NOLA mission trip. Who’s driving the Russ Bus? I am so happy to hear all of you who are returning veterans and equally excited for all of you first timers. Y’all have an amazing opportunity to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the same Gospel by which we are saved, with those people in New Orleans! Share it with your words and actions, showing them the same love that was demonstrated to us by God when He chose to die for us. What an amazing trip! I am sad that I am not there with you but I know that you all are having a blast. Work hard and play hard for me. Tell whoever is sleeping next to Todd’s bald head to give it a rub goodnight for me. I look forward to reading about what you all are doing and, most importantly, how Christ is working in you and through you. Be strong and courageous. I love you guys. Have a great trip. And when times are tough remember to ask yourself one question, “Do you know?”

Comment by Russell Brown

Keep up the good work! I know it is hot and tiresome to do what you all are doing, but keep sharing and helping as much as you can. I am very proud of you all for spending your vacation helping the community in 9th ward.

Comment by Jimmy Wright




Leave a comment