Postcards from the Edge


Reflections from Fun in the Son-Padre
July 18, 2009, 2:39 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hey everyone! Sorry that we have not been able to blog this week. The schedule is jam-packed doesn’t really allow us to stop long enough to blog. So, here are some final reflections from some of the kids on the way home today. More will be posted as they come in and I’ll post something myself this week as well. Thank you for your prayers that have been so instrumental in an amazing summer!!!

This week was one of the most amazing weeks of my life. I not only had a great time on the beach, (even though I got the worst sunburn of my life), I made some great friends on the trip. I really hope we can hold the relationships that we made together until the next Fun in the Son. However, the best part of the trip was the third night on which there was a worship service that changed my life. On that night, I surrendered my heart to Christ. I can’t wait to come home and give my testimony to everyone who asks me what I did on Fun in the Son.
– David Hewett

Like David said this week has been life changing for me and so many others. I have never felt more blessed in my entire life. It was so awesome to just be with so many people who love Christ and were living in his word. I felt that during all the seminars and discussions that we had, God was talking to me. I felt him calling me and I finally answered. This trip has put a new perspective on life for me and I’m ready to go home and live that life. I cant wait for next year and to see how much I change in my faith and to start my amazing adventure with Jesus Christ .
–Kathryn Hanson

This week was truly amazing for me. I had such a great time on the beach, (even though it was so HOT & HUMID), I made some really great friends on this trip. It was so amazing to see so many people who loved God with all of their heart, mind, body, & soul. I loved all of the music, seminars, and discussions that we had because I felt that God was speaking to me. There was one of the discussions that we had about “letting go of all of our baggage” which really helped me because there was some “baggage in my life that I just needed to “let go of”. I have loved getting to get to go on this trip for the second year in a year, because God has taught me so much more. I am going to miss this next year since I am going to be in college, but I hope that God will change the lives of those who go next year as well as change me as I start a new and exciting chapter in my life. The sponsors have been so loving and supportive on this trip because they have loved on us when we were crying, staying up late with us when it was past bedtime, and just always being there for us no matter what, and always loving us for “who we are”. I am so ready to tell everyone about what God did in my life this year on Fun In The Son. GOD IS SO GOOD ALL THE TIME!!!
–Natalie Nobles

This week was so amazing and I had so much fun! I went last year too and I thought that this year was even better. We had such a great time playing in the waves, playing volleyball and dodge ball( where we were definitely the best dressed team even if the black was really hot), and just hanging out together. I made some great new friends this trip and strengthened the friendships I already had. The seminars and meetings were really good and most of them I felt really applied to my life. The Jason Johnson band was amazing and I loved singing with them. I also enjoyed singing together in our family time and the discussions we had together. Sarah, Todd, and Gerry were really great and we all had so much fun together. I felt like Jesus really moved in my life this week and I’m really excited to see how he continues to work over this next year in all our lives!
– Samantha Hoover


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Natalie, I am so glad the Lord blessed you with this experience. May His love and Shalom be on you in greater measure as you begin this new chapter of your life with Him. Be blessed. Joyfully, Tina Briley

Comment by Tina Briley




Leave a comment