Postcards from the Edge


Some final reflections from New Orleans
July 18, 2009, 2:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The New Orleans Mission trip was one of the best trips I’ve been on. We were able to help people who had literally lost everything in the storm and were able to see how appreciative they were. God worked through everyone and showed how complete strangers from around the country were able to come together and help out people who need it. It was really cool to see how much the city has improved.
London Edwards
 
 The Mission trip to New Orleans was such a great experience. The people of New Orleans are truly an inspiration. Even though most of them have lost almost everything they have, they are just so hopeful and happy. God and these people truly helped change my attitude about appreciating things. Even people we weren’t personally helping would come up and thank us a million times for all we were doing there. Of course, the last day is always sad. Just when you start to get to know people from the other churches, you have to leave. The friendships we made there will be remembered forever. For the incoming freshman, it was sad that this would be the last time we got to go on this Mission Trip. I will never forget the experiences I had there and the bonds we formed on this trip. God really worked in our lives this week, and I’m sure we’ll never be the same.
-Morgan Lane

The Mission Trip was inspiring in so many ways I can’t even list them all.   Being there and experiencing a little part of what the New Orleans citizens had to go through was just amazing.  I have had so many fun memories while meeting new people from different places.  This week I chopped weeds, ripped out floor boards, and scraped paint off and old house than needed to be re-painted.  Doing this work for these people gave me a sense of accomplishment. Everyone was extremely nice and so thankful for what we had come to do. Every person in New Orleans had so much hope for the future.  It’s amazing how they can have an enormous amount of hope after Hurricane Katrina.  While working in New Orleans, I had the chance to meet so many new people, and listen to their stories.  My group was stripping floors and an old pastor drove by the house.  He stopped to thank us for the work we were doing.  It was so inspiring how strangers minding their own business will stop what they are doing to come and say thanks.  This is what made the work that I did so important and worth while.  I will leave this amazing experience knowing many things I have not ever known before.
~Sarah Heck

This week First Presbyterian Church of Midland, Texas sent a group of 8th and 9th graders to New Orleans. While we were in New Orleans we helped people redo their house, cut down weeds and paint schools. On Thursday we had to only work a half of a day so we tour the swamps.
We tour the swamps at a place called Cajun Encounters. While we were visiting the swamps we saw at least 10 alligators. On the way back in to the docks our captain caught one that was at least 3 feet long and we all got to pet it.
This week I was touch by the songs that we where singing during worship. One song that really touch me this week was “you are my all in all”.. I also was really touched by the special speakers who told us their story about Katrina. One of the Speakers there was a pastor from Tennessee who said that thousands of people fled to the Superdome. He also said that he talked to a Grandmother with her granddaughters who went there. The Grandmother talked about what life was like in the Superdome with no power or water. It really made you stop and think what was the real purposes that God sent you to New Orleans. Worship was also fun because there were at least 100 people.
This week the group that I worked with called the Navy Blue helped a men named Dennis redo his house. The things that we worked on where Mudding, Sanding, and painting “which was all done inside”. After we where done packing the van he pulled me over and said that I reminded him of himself when he was younger. Right as we where leaving his house you could tell that he was holding back his tears and that he was really thankful for us helping him move back in his house.
I want to give a big thanks to the Youth Ministers who prepare this trip for us and I also want to give a big thanks to the church for praying for us.
~Gabriel Bell


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi ya’ll..Well I guess I am another one of those New Orleanins who literally tripped over you all as I happened upon this blog..so I too must as a New Orleanian thank you with all my heart for helping us …to rebuild our beloved city so full of history tradition rituals and yes…lots of love and friendliness before and after Katrina.

May God in his goodness and eternal love give to each of you forever all His light and love for your compassion and loving kindness.

Ya’ll come back…you he-ah (hear!) but not just to work…come back frequently over the years as you go along for having been here in our worst of times…and know more of the best of times here….We love you each …for what you have done..Everyone one of us here…thanks you@

Patty Whalen

Comment by NewOrleansPuma




Leave a comment