Postcards from the Edge


Some wrap up on El Paso 2011
March 20, 2011, 2:11 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We’ll have more later, but here are some of the final reflections from El Paso. We’re back safe and sound as expected and on the heels of a phenomenal week together serving God and serving others. Here’s a few of the reflections…hope to add more later.

This week was so AWESOME!!! I loved every moment!! The group this year was the best! We all bonded so fast! This is my senior year and I would say this was my best year of all the years I went on the mission trip. I loved it. I wouldn’t have traded this trip for anything! God has changed my heart so much this week and I pray that the changes will continue when I arrive in Midland. God really opened my eyes this week and allowed me to see others around me the way He sees them. Tomas and Celia were such a joy to have in my life this week!! They are so thankful and I pray to be as thankful as they are. They really influenced my life this week and it helped me to realize that I truly and blessed. I love this trip so much. Next spring break I will be in college and I will look back and remember every moment of each day… I thank God for telling me to come on the mission trip this week!!! It was great!!
Love, Ariel

I had forgotten how much fun and spiritually renewing the Spring Break mission trip is to me. This has been a week of service, praise, love, laughter and a few painful lessons in the art of construction with a group of awesome young men and women (sponsors included!) To all the parents of these kids – thank you for allowing them to participate in God’s mission to further His Kingdom through loving and serving. They are an inspiration to me and I am so proud of them. Next year – you bet! Hope to see you with us next year. It will change your life.
Blessings,
Karen “Wink” Winkler

Had one of the best weeks of my life in El Paso. Quite a bit of my time was spent in the trailer home of Dona Chelita just talking to her and listening to what she had to share with everyone that walked through that front door. I feel that she was just such a blessing to all of us and I feel that she is like another mom or grandma to me somehow and Tomas was the same way. All in all I feel that we have brought glory to God’s name through our hard work and accomplishments. PRAISE BE TO GOD IN THE HIGHEST! -DAVID BELL

This week was simply amazing. God was working in so many ways with all of us. He worked through the family we were serving and through us. I can’t even imagine going anywhere else for spring break than on mission trip. I think we all learned a lot and grew together in our faith. Though my thumbs will never be the same again I look forward to next year.
~Morgan Lane

Today was AMAZING! Towards the end of the week, we’re getting sunburned, sick and exhausted, yet God continues to work unconditionally and miraculously through us. Today was the first day we were able to have VBS, and it was absolutely phenomenal. The kids were such a reminder of Christ and his presence in all of his children. The house is pulling together beautifully and even with a few bum thumbs and bumps in the road, we’ve had a blast, nail by nail. Tomas & Celia have been such a blessing to all of us and have been so grateful. It’s been so refreshing to see their faith and love shine throughout the week. The children at VBS have been equally as wonderful. As mission trip comes to a close tomorrow, I can say it has been a joyous and amazing week with Christ as he has worked through each and every one of us
-Sarah Burns

This week has been an incredible experience just as all of the other Spring Breaks I’ve spent in El Paso have been. Each mission trip the presence of God shines brightly through everyone, but this week God really shone through David Wayland. He had such patience with all of us kids. This mission trip would honestly not be successful without his kindness and abilities. We are all so very thankful for Mr. Wayland and could not imagine a single mission trip without him.
-Janelle Eriksen


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment